Our School - School History

 Since 1870………….  

 
“Once home to the colony’s first bushrangers and later a French Village, today’s Hunters Hill is a quiet link with a past of garden-blessed houses and tree-shaded streets. 
 
Hunters Hill forms a peninsula between two rivers flowing into Sydney Harbour, and was named after Captain John Hunter who came here with the First Fleet in 1788. 
 
William Wright bought land in Hunters Hill from Ambrose Foss in the Mount St area. Wright donated land for Hunters Hill Public School and the original buildings were a gift from the community. The “sandstone” building at the front of the school, in Alexandra St, is an excellent example of a Gothic-Style school that was designed by the architect G.A. Mansfield.
 
In 1875 Wright further subdivided his land bounded by Mount St, Alexandra St, and Stanley Road. The subdivision was developed with houses notably the fine stone house Eulbertie (1878).
 
 
 

Eulbertie was built in 1878 and later purchased in 1965 by the Department of Education.

Now a uniquely stunning dual classroom building adding to the beauty and character that is, Hunters Hill Public School.

 

 

The original Hunters Hill Public School buildings were opened by Sir Henry Parkes on 4th September 1870. 

Mr John Dobbie was the original Headmaster, a position he retained for 36 years. The initial enrolment was 63 boys and 27 girls, with an average daily attendance rate in 1873 of 64 students. A Bank of NSW Branch for children was established in the school in 1875.

   

 

 

Due to a rapid increase in enrolments in 1965, the Department purchased an old house “Eulbertie” located next-door, in spacious grounds, from the Marshall Family.

This provided another 2 classrooms and playground space for the 205 Primary students and 167 infant students in attendance.